Frank Sedgman Cup

The Frank Sedgman Cup is a metropolitan and regional team event for 11 & Under boys and girls from across Victoria. The competition is a round robin format with ties consisting of two boys' singles, two girls' singles and two mixed doubles rubbers.
Waverley Winning Teams since the Frank Sedgman Cup commenced in 2006
2009Melanie Woodward    Klemens Haberberger    Kelly Martin    Daniel Nguyen
2008Noelleda Ah San    Caleb Boland    Daniel Nickels    Stephanie Raux

Click on the year to open the content.
This year the event was held on 27 & 28 July 2019. Congratulations to our team who finished in 4th position out of 17 teams, losing to Moorabbin & District by 3 games in the ¾ playoff.  Team played extremely well over the weekend. 140 visiting team members (including family members) joined together for a meal at La Porchetta on Saturday night. Our team was represented by:
  • Liam Kindler
  • Cooper Pearson
  • Sophia Brooks-Gay
  • Alice Irvine

Special thanks to Lyn Gillen for managing the team and all the parents for their support over the week-end.

L to R:  Sophia Brooks-Gay. Cooper Pearson, Liam Kindler, Alice Irvine

Our team of Aedan Nelson, Steven Klasan, Christiana Masvosva and Kayla Yip travelled to Bairnsdale to play the 11 and under Tennis Victoria event.

We won our way into the semi final and drew North Eastern Juniors to play in the semis.  At the end of the match we were both even on sets and games so both pairs of mixed had to play another mixed set to decide who would proceed to the Final.  Waverley came up trumps winning by one game.  We then met Eastern Region at the end of match we were even on sets but ERT were up by 6 games.

Team played extremely well and were a credit to the Association and were asking when the next event was on!!!

L to R:  Kayla Yip,  Christiana Masvosva,  Steven Klasan,  Aedan Nelson

We won through to semi-finals on Sunday and got beaten by 2 games by Bayside Moorabbin.  In playoff 3 to 4 we defeated Eastern Region by 3 games.

Our team was Ryosuke Shibuya, Theo Edwards, Nithesa Selvaraj & Jasmine Lay. 

L to R:  Ryosuke Shibuya,  Theo Edwards,  Jasmine Lay,  Nithesa Selvaraj

Players in the winning 2009 team, with Karen Butler (Team Manager) were:   
(At Back)  Melanie Woodward and Klemens Haberberger   
(Front)      Kelly Martin and Daniel Nguyen

Players in the winning 2008 team, with Pat Wright (Team Manager) were:
Noelleda Ah San,  Caleb Boland,  Daniel Nickels,  Stephanie Raux



Bookmark SiteTell a FriendPrintBlogFacebookTwitterClubsFixturesClub ZoneLadders